This exhibit was created by a USU student. (learn more...)

Brief Timeline of Burma/Myanmar and Karen State

1057 - Burma/Myanmar first unified under King Anawrahta.

1826 - End of the first Anglo-Burmese war with the Treaty of Yandabo. The British took over parts of Burma, and the Burmese were forced to keep a British resident at their court. Diplomatic and commercial relationship between Burmese and the British begins.

1852 - Second Anglo-Burmese war, and Britain annexes Lower Burma. Established a "back door" to trade routes through and around China.

1885-1886 - Third Anglo- Burmese war; Britain takes over Mandalay, the capital of Burma. The country is now a province of British India.

1886-1895 - Burmese guerilla war against the British.

1942-1945 - Burma is occupied by the Japanese Imperial Army.

1945 - Britain frees Burma from Japanese occupation.

1947 - Aung San signs agreement with Britain to guarantee Burma's independence. Later that same year, he was assassinated.


[1] Myint-U, Thant. The Making of Modern Burma. Port Chester, NY, USA: Cambridge University Press, 2001. ProQuest ebrary. Accessed 28 May 2015.

[2] "Myanmar Profile-Timeline." BBC News. Accessed 18 May 2015.

[3] Topich, William J., and Keith A. Leitich. The Greenwood Histories of the Modern Nations: The History of Myanmar. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2013.