1978 AIAW Championship

Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women


Women's Volleyball team photo from the 1979 Volleyball Outlook brochure


USU 1978 National Champion volleyball team poses with the AIAW trophy

Started in 1976, the varsity women’s volleyball team saw great success in its early years. Before the 1978 season, Weiss hired two coaches, Marilyn McReavy Nolen and Mary Jo Peppler, both former Olympians. Weiss also recruited heavily from across the country and brought a number of talented women to play for USU. 


1978 AIAW National Championship trophy

With excellent coaching and a roster filled with transfers from volleyball powerhouse UCLA, the team won the BYU and Collegiate Classic tournaments during the regular season and easily beat regional teams even though they could not afford to send all their players to away games. The team finished the season strong, winning their final twelve matches and defeating (ironically) UCLA at the AIAW National Tournament.

Standout players included Annette Cottle, Lucia Chudy, and Sandy Lynn. Cottle, a Junior transfer from BYU, was given the Broderick Award for the most outstanding college volleyball player in America. 

USU volleyball would also find great success in 1979, only losing in the AIAW tournament finals to the University of Hawaii.