The Built Environment: 130 Years of Growth, Development, and Change on the USU Campus: Introduction
The Built Environment: Introduction
Utah State University (USU) opened as the Agricultural College of Utah (referred to as the UAC), planting roots on the wind-swept, sagebrush-covered eastern bench above Logan in 1888. In 1929, the State Legislature renamed the UAC as the Utah State Agricultural College (USAC), and in 1957, the institution became Utah State University. As the name changes suggest, USU has grown for more than 130 years, sprouting new buildings and grounds to accommodate the fluctuating educational and recreational needs of its faculty and student body. Using a variety of materials housed in Utah State University Libraries’ Special Collections and Archives, Built Environment reconstructs the stories behind some of the iconic, overlooked, and even forgotten structures of the historic USU campus.
For images of campus maps and building locations, please view the Campus Map Gallery.