The American Guide Series: American Culture Defined


The American Guide graphic

The American Guide Series is a collection of guidebooks written by authors working for the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration that was part of the New Deal created by the Franklin Delano Roosevelt presidential administration during the Great Depression. Originally published between 1937-1942, the American Guide Series included guidebooks for each of the 48 states, as well as the territories of Alaska and Puerto Rico and several cities, highways, and other regions that were deemed of interest. The American Guides were well received by the public, despite public controversy over their source—the Federal Writers’ Project. These guides helped rejuvenate the economy and define American culture through the promotion of tourism in the United States. 

Exhibition Credits:

  • Katie Farr (Curator)
  • Jennifer Duncan (Curatorial Advisor)
  • Shay Larsen (Graphic Designer)
  • Darcy Pumphrey (Digital Team)
  • Alison Gardner (Digital Team)
  • Becky Thoms (Digital Team)
  • Malori Menck (Scanning Technician)